10 Comments

JFI for love – Murungai keerai poriyal

As this blog’s name says its for solely my dear Amma who is a lovely lady not just by looks but by heart too.
All mothers are lovely but when I think about her I bet I can’t even reach half of her heights as a mother. Having a great passion towards medical field she waited 50 long years to do something in it. I remember the day she left the house for her first day at her Accupucture classes. Hesitantly she walked away alone to the bus stop to reach the place. Before which she hadn’t travelled alone not even once in her life. she is now a Doctorate in Accupuncture, a loving mother, a wonderful wife and an adorable grandma. And of course she’s Dr. Vasantha too šŸ™‚
I don’t have words to describe her love towards us. For me her love is the ultimate gift I could get. She makes this wonderful simple dish with homegrown drumstick leaves (added more love)
She loves murungai keerai and this poriyal is her (ofcourse mine too) all time favorite. A very simple yet very tasty and nutritious dish. I can have a big bowl on its own.

Ingredients:
Drumstick leaves – 2 cups packed
Garlic – 4-5 cloves
Msutard seeds – 1/4 tea spoon
Grated fresh coconut – 2 T spoon
Split dry red chillies – 2-3
peanut oil – 1 tea spoon
Urad dal – 1 tea spoon
Salt to taste
Roasted groundnuts coarsely pwodered – 2 T spoon

How to make it?
In the wide skillet heat the peanut oil. Once hot add the mustard seeds, red chillies and urad dal and saute till the seeds splutter. Now add the garlic cloves and saute till slightly golden. Add the drumstick leaves and saute till they wilt. Add salt and 1/4 cup water and mix well. Let it cook till the water dries up. Add the grated coconut and groundnuts and saute for few seconds and switch off the stove.

Serve warm with rice.
This is my entry for JFI Love hosted by Jigyasa and Prathiba. Thank you dears for the wonderful theme.

10 comments on “JFI for love – Murungai keerai poriyal

  1. A nice tribute to your mother, Nirmala……

  2. What a lovely tribute – she sounds special. The recipe sounds great!

  3. lovely lovely post nirmala!…

  4. Lovely post Nirmala. a gorgeous looking pooriyal. šŸ˜€

    Siri

  5. We are missing here these keerais Nirmala.Lovely post

  6. i loveeee this keerai poriyal. What ? Unga amma accupuncturistaa ? Thats such a rare field in India illa ? I have never seen a post of yours without the word amma in it. Who else could be featured in JFI-love !! Awesome

    Btw the click is superbbbbb!

  7. Wonderful tribute! I really wish I could get my hands on this keerai. Wonderful pics! šŸ™‚

  8. I make keerai in a similar way too. Revathi at En Ulagam had posted the recipe a while back. But only yesterday we had murunga ilai poricha kootu šŸ™‚

  9. Nice post and healthy recipe too..Thanks for sharing..

  10. […] Nirmala of Ammaā€™s special about Amma and Murungai keerai poriyal All mothers are lovely butā€¦I can’t even reach half of her heights as a mother. Having a great passion towards medical field she waited 50 long years to do something in itā€¦she is now a Doctorate in Accupunctureā€¦and an adorable grandma. […]

Leave a comment