1 Comment

Parangi kottai paal kootu – Baby pumpkin coconut with milk

I love pumpkins but love the baby pumpkins (the skin would still be a dark green) more because of the soft texture and the sweetness. When my neighbour S told about this sweet kootu I wanted to try immediately but the vegetable markets always sell the big orange skinned pumpkins. In Tamil, the baby pumpkin is called “Parangi kottai”.

Check this post for baby pumpkin pics.

I waited and found a nice green cute pumpkin and tried this recipe. I loved it but actually could not match it with any dish because of its sweetness. I had it as it is but my friend said it would go well with a spicy adai.

 

JDSC02845jumping to the recipe…

Pranagi kottai paal kootu

ingredients:

Baby pumpkin (the skin should be dark green) (skinned, center soft part with seeds removed and chopped to bite size pieces) – 2 Cups

Coconut milk (thick, first milk) – 1 Cup

Sugar / Jaggery (I had used sugar but Jaggery would be more authentic) – 1/2 Cup

To season :

Ghee – 1 teaspoon

Mustard seeds – 1 pinch

Asafoetida – 1 pinch

Dry red chilly – 1 (broken)

Curry leaves – 1 sprig

 

How to cook ?

In a thick bottomed vessel add the chopped pumpkin and 1/4 Cup of water. Cover and cook in low flame until fork tender.  Add the Coconut milk and sugar or jaggery and stir well. Add a pinch of salt now. Keep the flame low and let it start simmering. Meanwhile in another small kadai add the ghee and when its hot add all the other ingredients under seasoning. When the seeds start spluttering add it to the simmering gravy. Mix well and switch off the stove. The gravy is ready. You can have it with rotis or as it is. A spicy adai also would go well with this.

One comment on “Parangi kottai paal kootu – Baby pumpkin coconut with milk

  1. Thanks You for Sharing This information blog I am bookmark this blog, Need some more post

    See my site Web Designing In Dwarka

Leave a comment