5 Comments

Simplest mushroom saute

This recipe is from my dear friend dear M. When I was working in Coimbatore, myself and 3 of my friends (disliking hostel food) decided to takeup a house and cook for ourselves. That was the golden period in my life. Myself and M alone knew cooking and the other two shared all other household work. We had a real good time cooking various recipes. We were running the house in minimal budget and no fridge and no wet grinder. Yet  we managed to cook fresh food and eat all the time. My dear M would make this delicious mushroom curry which was a treat during our sunday meals. This is the simplest curry with just 3 ingredients and yet so tasty.

Ingredients:

Button mushrooms – 20 (cleaned and cut into 4 pieces vertically)

Green chillies slit vertically – 4 or 5 (depends on how hot you want the saute)

Ghee – 3 table spoons

Salt – 1/4 teaspoon

How to make it?

Heat a wide skillet and pour the ghee into it. It will start smoking immediately. Simmer the stove and add the green chilles and saute for few seconds. Then add the mushrooms. Turn the stove to high flame. Saute continously for 2 minutes. Let the mushrooms cook in its own juice. After 2 minutes simmer the stove and cook for further 5-6 minutes until the water evapourates to 1/4 of its original amount. Now add required salt. Taste them now and add more salt if required. Turn off the stove and your curry is ready. This can go well with rotis or rice with a spicy curry.

And I baked the Chelsea buns from Jai and Bee! They were wonderful! Thanks Jai & Bee for the foolproof recipes.

5 comments on “Simplest mushroom saute

  1. that is a really simple recipe, and a mushroom lover like me has gotta to try it. glad the buns worked out for ya!

  2. looks yummy! i love mushrooms but unfortunately, my roommate doesnt 🙂

  3. This is a very simple n neat recipe. nice one 🙂

  4. looks so good! must be very tasty!

  5. Made my lunch today 🙂

    There were more than one reason for me to enjoy this recipe ! I am from Coimbatore and love mushrooms and that’s what got me to your webpage.

    It was very quick to make and very tasty. I didn’t let go of the chillies also.

    Very nice one !
    Really felt happy that you enjpyed it! The credit goes to my friend.

Leave a comment