12 Comments

A healthy chocolate cake for JFI Chocolate

Chocolate….Its the most loved item at home. Right from the kids to the oldest one whenever I make anything with chocolates it dissappears fast. When Deepz announced this month’s ingredient as Chocolate I had so many recipes (of course execuses to try them all) but not all came to my expectation. My sister who is a Siddha doctor would always keep ranting about the ingredients I use to bake and is totoally opposing me for using the AP flour. She is pestering me to find alternates and I am not daring enough to experiment. This time I picked up little courage. I finally decided to make a chocolate cake from here one of my favorite baking blogs,  but with few changes.

The original recipe calls for graham crackers powdered but I decided to substitute with flour as my kids won’t like a crumbly cake. For 2 cups of AP flour I substituted 3/4 cup of corn flour, 3/4 cup of quick cooking rolled oats ground to a powder and cannot totally ignore AP and hence added 1/2 cup of that. The combination turned to be perfectly good and cake is moist, soft and when drenched in the chocolate sauce it was absolutely delicious. This is my contribution for JFI Chocolate hosted by lovely Deepz.

Chocolate Graham Cracker Cake 

Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter

1 cup shortening (used butter)

3 eggs, seperated

2 cups graham cracker crumbs (3/4 cup of corn flour, 3/4 cup of quick cooking rolled oats ground to a powder, 1/2 cup AP flour)

2 TBSP baking powder

3 TBSP cocoa

1 tsp salt

1 cup milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup chopped nuts (skipped)

Preheat oven to 375F. Cream butter and add sugar and egg yolks, mixing until well combined. Add graham craker crumbs, baking powder, cocoa, salt, milk, vanilla extract, and nuts; mix well. Beat egg whites until stiff and fold into mixture. pour batter into two greased and floured 9 inch round pans. Bake 25-30 minutes. Cool slightly. Turn out onto a wire rack to cool completely.

Chocolate Sauce

1 cup Whipping cream

2 tablespoons Sugar

4 ounces Bittersweet chocolate, chopped

1 tablespoon Unsalted butter

Combine the cream and sugar in a small saucepan and heat to a boil. Pour the hot mixture over the chocolate and butter in a medium bowl. Stir until completely melted and smooth. Strain through a fine wire mesh strainer into a serving bowl. Pour it over the cake before serving.

12 comments on “A healthy chocolate cake for JFI Chocolate

  1. Nirmala
    Happy new year and what a great way to start new year!!!delicious looking cake

  2. Happy new year!:)
    My kids love Chocolate cake too, looks yum.

  3. Nirmalaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa – where are you? how are you? – i love how that cake looks 🙂

  4. looks fabulous. you can also use whole wheat chapati flour with some cornstarch mixed in. oat powder is a great idea. i’m gonna use that more often.

  5. yummmy cake nirmala.

    Happy New Year 2008…

  6. woe, looks silky and pretty:) the graham cracker crumbs are a great idea:)

  7. Hmmm love the glaze on top, looks delicious! 🙂

  8. Nirmala you can also send this to Bindiya’s event…

  9. Thanks dears for all your lovely comments.
    Sri, I shall send it to Bindiya’s event.
    Lakshmi, I was really busy with work and could not do blogging as I desire to this month. Somehow managed to post for JFI in the last minute.
    Bee, I tried once with wheat flour but it gives a denser cake and also its leaves an earthy flavor which my kids doesn’t like. But oats and conrflour gives a nice texture.

  10. Wow ! nothing cna be more chocolaty than this 🙂 . yummy !

  11. That cake looks heavenly. Could you pls pass me that slice.

Leave a comment