2 Comments

Pudalangai Poricha Kootu – Spicy Snake guard kootu

Unexpected guests, amma’s illness all kept be away from blogging these days. Hope I would continue my weekly blogging from now onwards strictly. (How many promises! Sigh!)
During a a recent visit to the market I saw these funny snake guards. Even the veggie vendor got fascinated about the snake guards shapes and had hung a couple of them in  a ceiling. I got three of them.

I am not sure what to cook. A kootu? Or a poriyal ? But I hate the chana dal kootu all the ways. So when flipping through the pages of a book by my favorite author La. Sa. Ra., I hit upon the combo pudalangai poricha kootu and kothumalli thuvayal. Having been impressed by his wonderful food combo tastes I immediately decided to make use of the snake guards into this wonderful and flavorful kootu. It’s just a hit I should say. For the first time in my blogging experience I clicked the last bowl of the kootu for the photos. Even though I planned to blog about this kootu the excellent aroma made me eat first and after the entire family finished off eating I remembered about the clicks. But that doesn’t matter. I am blogging here. 
   The only condition to get the right taste is the snake guards should be very young and tender. Also use fresh grated coconut to get the flavors right. Now jumping to the recipe…

Pudalangai Poricha kootu – Snake guard kootu
ingredients :

Baby snake guards chopped – 3 Cups (packed)
Refer here on how to clean and prepare snake guard before cooking
Turmeric – 2 pinches
Yellow Moong dal – 1/3 Cup
Asafoetida – 1 pinch
Peanut oil – 3 teaspoons (divided)
Chopped coriander – 2 Table spoon

For the paste :

Dry Red Chilles – 3
Coriander seeds – 1 Table spoon
Chana dal – 1 Table spoon
Pepper corns – 3
Grated coconut – 1/2 Cup (loosely packed)

 
How to make it?
Cook the moong dal with a pinch of asafoetida and a pinch of turmeric and a spoon of peanut oil till soft.

Refer here to know how to cook prepare snake guard for cooking.
In a thick bottomed pan cook the chopped snake guard pieces with a pinch of turmeric and 1/4 cup of water till soft. Add the cooked moong dal and mix well and cook for 5 minutes in simmer. In a thick bottomed kadai heat 1 teaspoon of peanut oil the items under “For the paste” in the same order. Saute in low flame till the grated coconut turns pale. Let it cool and grind it to a smooth paste with very little water. Add this to the snake guard and moong dal mix and mix well. Add salt and mix well. Check and adjust till it tastes right for you. Simmer for further 5 minutes. Sprinkle the chopped coriander leaves and cover and switch off the stove. Let the flavors blend well.
Serve hot with a coriander chutney and piping hot rice. Its a hearty and light meal 🙂

2 comments on “Pudalangai Poricha Kootu – Spicy Snake guard kootu

  1. Oh my God this looks so good and i`m sure that it is delicious too. I think it is not a very difficult recipe so i will give it a try, thanks a lot for sharing.

  2. Those are certainly funny, Ni! Reminds me of sages standing on one leg and their hair all coiled on top of their heads – pics from Chandamama and Amar Chitra Katha! How are you?
    I am doing great Sra! Nice imagination 🙂

Leave a Reply

