5 Comments

Caramelized fig cake

A birthday gift to a food blogger nowadays seems to be the same all over the world. The first thing that comes in the list is some utensils for cooking. Nothing else seems to be more exciting that these! The same happened to me and when Appa asked me what would I want I said a tart pan. I have few small tarelette pans but not a big one. But Appa surprised me with some cookie cutters too along with the tart pan.

The day I got it I was jumping with joy as its a non stick one and of the perfect size I wanted. I had a bag full of fresh figs and this is the first time I was eating figs. I liked its mildly sweet and mellow flavor and the crunchy seeds are the best. We made glassful of milk shakes and relished fw fruits. I searched for some cake recipes but the one I tried first time with fresh figs were not to our likes. The fruits became soggy and in the cake they did not taste that good.

So I made a basic sponge and caramelized some figs to flavour them. Yeah it turned to be really tasty and everybody enjoyed their slice.

I baked this cake in my tart pan (it came out ver well but). When it came to caramelizing the figs as thy were tender little cuties the soft slices very quickly turned to a jam like consistency. But yet they were perfectly tasting 🙂

To the recipe….

Caramelized fig cake

Ingredients :

For the caramelized figs:

Skinned and Sliced figs – 4 cups

Butter – 2 teaspoon

Sugar – 3/4 cup

For the sponge :

Powdered Sugar – 3/4 Cup (Reduced it as caramelized figs have additional sugar)

Vanilla extract – 1 teaspoon

Baking powder – 1/4 teaspoon

Eggs 3

All purpose flour – 1/2 cup

Melted butter – 3 T spoon

How to make it?

Caramelized figs:

In a thick bottomed vessel heat the butter and when melted add the sugar. Stir constantly and when th sugar is almost melted add the sliced figs. Keep stirring on low flame until the mass starts leaving the sides. Take off the stove and let it cool.

Sponge Cake:

Pre heat the over to 170 degree centigrade. Sift the baking powder and flour and keep it aside. In a clean dry bowl beat the sugar and eggs until pale (3-4 minutes). Add the vanilla extract and beat until blended. Sift the flour on the egg mixture and fold gentle so that the air beaten into the eggs are not getting deflated much. Once you don’t see any streaks of flour stop mixing. Add the melted and cooled butter and blend quickly with soft strokes of a spoon. Butter a 9 inch cake pan and pour half of the batter in to it. Spoon the half of the caramelized figs in blobs over the batter and pour the rest of the batter on it. spoon the rest of the fig mix on the batter and bake in the pre heated oven until done.

Enjoy your slice with a cup of espresso! It tastes best the next day but this measure yields 7-8 slices and for our family its done in 2 days 🙂

5 comments on “Caramelized fig cake

  1. Looks absolutely yummy, havent tasted fig…but the cake looks perfect and spongy!

  2. Happy tarting up! 😀 Those slices look really yummy, and it all sounds exotic.
    Sra, thanks for coming back after lon time. Really missed your spiced up comments. Yeah when we meet again I shall make this for you 😉

  3. Sounds delicious. Cakes looks spongy.
    Jaysree, this sponge is very simple too and very forgiving.

  4. Looks lovely Nirmala, I bet the figs tasted wonderful. It is a cake after all, jam like is good, that’s how the French present their sponge cakes with jam smeared on top.

    It is surprising isn’t? there are figs trees all over the place in my village but I have rarely seen people eating them. Wonder why? Are they not the edible variety or am I confusing it with some other fruit? A good research to do. I think it is called athi pazham in Tamil.
    You are right Indo. The ones we find were the “naatu athi” and people hesitate to eat them as there were lots of worms found. These were some hybrid variety which is similar to figs available in USA. I shall post a pic next time

Leave a Reply

