2 Comments

Moong sprouts kichidi

On a recent visit to the vegetable shop I picked up a pack of moong sprouts. After reading so many posts on sprouting legumes at home the lazy me bought this as I wanted to ty something immediately and do not want to wait till the moong dal sprout on its own in my kitchen.

Saying this I had some broken wheat at home lying around unused and I was afraid it might get insects. It did not since 4 months but just thought I can make a combo as I love broken wheat. None of them in the family likes broken wheat but I never fail stuffing them with upma or kichidi whenever I have a craving for the same. But this combo worked and people ate without complaints. Especially my brother loved it.

Moong sprouts kichidi
Ingredients :
Broken wheat (not the wheat rava) – 1 cup
Moong sprouts – 1 cup
Green chillies – 3 (stem and slit them vertically halfway through)
Clove – 1 (remove the head)
Cinnamon – 1/2 inch
Bay leaf – 1 (slightly crush with your fingers)
Peanut oil – 3 T
Onion thinly sliced – 1/2 cup
Turmeric – 1 pinch
Salt to taste
Water – 4 cups

DSC01871

How to make it ?
In the thick bottomed vessel heat the oil. When hot add the clove, cinnamon, bay leaf and when they start sizzling add the onions. Saute them till they turn soft. Add the green chillies and saute for a half a minute. Add the moong sprouts. Saute in high flame till the raw smell reduces around 2-3 mins. Now add the broken wheat and saute for another minute. Add the water, turmeric and salt. Check and adjust salt to your taste. Let the water come to a boil. No transfer this to a vessel and pressure cook for 3 to 4 whistles. Let the cooker cool down and serve the hot kichidi with some yogurt and pickle. a hearty simple weeknight meal šŸ˜‰

DSC01870

I missed to update about the kind awards given by Lavi! Thanks dear! You are a sweetie!

2 comments on “Moong sprouts kichidi

  1. Looks really tasty Nirmala. I am slowly starting to appreciate kichidi now after not particularly caring for it.

  2. I quite like the bland taste of khichdi with the surprise of spice here and there!

Leave a Reply

