8 Comments

Murukku for ICC September

Indian Cooking Challenge became a dear-to-the-heart event atleast for my family. Though I make all experiments with baking their interests are on indian snacks and desserts and my sister would always insist on me to try out all the goodies that my Grandma would make. Even though Amma knows quiet a bit of them I would say she’s not that much an expert on these snacks when compared to Grandma.
ICC_New Logo
I remember when staying in hostel during college days my Grandma would make big bags full of murukku, athirasam, milagu vadai and rava laddoos. You won’t believe that I literally lived on these snacks when I am not ready to eat the food served in the hostel. Every moth this is a regular affair and as soon as the bag is done I will look forward for my next trip to home. This saga ended when lost my dearest Grandma at the end of my first year in college. Then as the need of the hour I got used to eat the hostel food ;(

Murukku hence is my all time favorite. My Grandfather had lost all his teeth at the age of 60 but had not lost the love of murukku. So when I was a kid I used to grind the murukku made at home in the “Ammi kallu”.

And one day he made a great innovation. Sorry if somebody felt this combo gross but I love it to the core. Yes he immersed a pieces of murukku in hot filter coffee and used to have the semi crisp murukku half soaked in the aromatic coffee. I am the only partner of crime for all his experiments and we both would enjoy murukku with coffee. I am still enjoying it with sweet memories of my dearest Thaatha.

So when Valli announced this month’s ICC is murukku no wonder that I am overwhelmed.

I made it (except I usd store bought rice flour as I made it only today i.e., the last day) and wow it had the exact taste of what my Grandma had made years ago. I have reserved a whole bunch to enjoy those melt in the mouth crisps with a hot cuppa 😉 Thanks a lot Valli !

DSC01877

Here is the recipe :
Jantikalu or Murukulu

Preparation Time : 20 – 30 mins
Cooking Time : 20 – 30 mins
Makes : app 250 kg of Muruku
Cuisine: Andhra & Tamil Nadu

Utensils needed:
Muruku /Chakli Press.
Kadai

Ingredients Needed:

Raw Rice – 4 cups
Urad Dal – 1 cup
Water – app 1/2 cup or more

For Seasoning

Cumin seeds – 1 tsp
Sesame seeds- 1 tsp
Asafetida/ Hing – 1/2 tsp
Salt to taste
Butter – 75 gms

Method to prepare:

Wash and drain the rice. Shade dry the Rice for 1/2 hr. Dry roast the Urad dal to light brown. Allow it to cool.
If you are using more quantity, you can get it ground in rice mil, else use your mixie to grind both Rice and Urad dal.

First grind rice into a fine flour, keep it aside. then grind the urad dal to fine powder.

In a wide vessel, take both the flours along with salt. Mix well. Add cumin, Sesame seeds to the flour, mix well.

Whether you use Asafetida powder or the solid ones, you got to mix it in water, make sure it is dissolved before adding to the flour. If its not dissolved properly, when deep frying the muruku, there are chances for the hing to burst our due to air bubbles.

Mix in the hing to the flour and finally add the butter. Gather everything well and you will get more of a crumbling mixture. Now slowly add water and knead a dough which is little more softer than the puri dough.

Heat a kadai with oil enough to deep fry. Once the oil is hot enough, simmer to low flame.

Take the Muruku Aachu, wash and wipe it clean. Then divide the dough into equal balls. Fill the Muruku maker with the dough. You can either press it directly over the flames or press over a paper and gently slide it down the hot oil. But since the quantity mentioned here is less, you can press it directly over the kadai.

Cook over medium flame, using a slotted spoon, turn it over to other side to ensure both sides turn golden colour. You will know by seeing the colour that its cooked. Remove to a kitchen paper and store it in a air tight container.

DSC01878

Give a try soaking this up in a cup of filter coffee 😉

8 comments on “Murukku for ICC September

  1. Murukkus remind me of my grandmother. She still makes a big bagful to take with me whenever I visit India. Dunking murukku in coffee is a favorite for many Nirmala. I am not a coffee drinker but witness to many who do 🙂

    Oh really Indo ? First time hearing that I have compnay 🙂

  2. Those are looking great Nimi, glad that you could make it..:)

  3. I followed your comment thread on Jayashree’s murukkus to land here. I have acyually tried dipping these in tea too:) In thayir tho these are the yummiest!

  4. Murukkus in coffee, should try with my tea when I get murukku from the store next time. These look awesome

  5. I usually don’t post on Blogs but ya forced me to, great info.. excellent! … I’ll add a backlink and bookmark your site.

  6. I don’t know If I said it already but …This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  7. Yummy and crispy muruku.

  8. Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

Leave a Reply

