9 Comments

Truffle Truffle in a bowl

Truffles are my all time favorites but I get to eat them whenever my friends come back from USA. This is an old story now as Chennai has super markets who could sell all international brands. But how much ever I eat I never get enough of it. Now there is competition at home (my two kids) I thought its high time I try some at home so that everybody can eat to our heart’s fill.

I got some good quality dark chocolate in one of the super markets here and spared a large bar for this trial. I am first time tempering chocolate and all and I am so very fascinated to see the glossy, shiny and silky melted chocolate in my double-boiler set up. I used Amul fresh cream and all in all the truffles turned to be good. They were silky, stubborn enough to hold its shape when refrigerated and melt in your mouth when you bite. I made a puristic version and did not add even a nut. Everybody especially my kids loved it that way. I followed instructions from several blogs on tempering the chocolate but followed my own measurements. The original recipe from which I adapted is here.
Here is my recipe :

Chocolate Truffles :

Ingredients :
1/3 cup cream

1/4 cup powdered sugar

6 ounces dark chocolate, finely chopped

2 tablespoons butter, very soft

truffle1

How to make it ?

Combine the cream and invert sugar in a saucepan. Bring to a boil over medium heat on the stove. Remove from heat and let it cool for 10 mins.

Meanwhile, place the chocolate in a bowl and set over a pot of simmering water. Do not let the bowl touch the surface of the water. Melt the chocolate for 5 – 7 mins. The chocolate will most likely not be fully melted yet and you will have to stir it – watch carefully or your chocolate will overheat and you will have to wait for it to cool down!

Touch and check if both the cream and chocolate were in same temperature. If you have a candy thermometer it should read 115 degrees. Strain if there appear to be lumps and you can’t break them up.

Pour the cream and chocolate into a tall, clear container. Use an immersion blender to blend the mixture until the ganache thickens and becomes pudding like. Add the butter and combine with the immersion blender. Alternatively, you can do all this in a food processor.

Pour the ganache into a container that will allow it to spread out to a thickness of about an inch (not a very large container). This will make it easier to scoop truffles.

truffle3

Allow the ganache to cool to room temperature, then cover and refrigerate until firm, preferably overnight.

When you are ready to make truffles, use a small cookie dough scoop to scoop balls from the ganache (I use a measuring tablespoon). Place them on a tray so you can pop it in the refrigerator to chill if necessary.

Roll the truffles in dark cocoa powder and wrap them in foil.

Store the truffles in the refrigerator until serving time.

9 comments on “Truffle Truffle in a bowl

  1. Nirmala, you are on a roll. These truffles looks so good.

  2. Truffles are my favorite too, never made them at home..always end up finishing my dark chocolate before i cud use it..lol 🙂

  3. OMG!!!.. Looks sooooo delicious… 🙂

  4. Nirmala…this is just too much…you are making stuff I didn’t even know could be made at home 🙂

  5. Feel like grabbing one right now….looks delectable….

  6. Truffles looks mouth watering!

  7. Hm, I’m almost sure you don’t have to temper chocolate when making truffles, only when coating them (or anything else) with pure chocolate. Maybe this is just a different technique 🙂 Well, they do look mighty delicious though 🙂

  8. Different version of the classic truffle..however u make it a truffle is a truffle ,i guess.. nice pic !

  9. Nice mouthwatering recipe…

Leave a Reply

