9 Comments

Chocolate Cappuccino tartletes

Regular readers would have remembered about by shortest trip to Colorado. My purchases included some coffee for my Father who is an ardent lover of Coffee. I bought some French roasted coffee powder along with a box of Cappuccino from Hills Bros.

DSC01815

Soon after my arrival Appa and myself opened the pack and prepared a mug for each of us. The instructions asks us to mix with boiling water which we felt diluted. I tried mixing another spoonful but it became very sweet. Hence we both gave up and since then the box is lying around untouched.

Being an ardent fan of Helen I was longing to make tartletes for some time. A new idea sparkled and I took one of her tartlete recipe for the shells. Then I filled them with a simple chocolate ganache. I whipped some fresh cream (my nearby supermarket supplies some fresh cream) and mixed in some sugar and the cappuccino powder. Voila, the cream turned out wonderful and I could get the feel of cappuccino right away. Then I piped them on the shells filled with ganache and yeah they turned to be to too cute (oh..its my baby :))

DSC01814

This is the first time I am trying some sweet tartlets (the last time I made these) and I am so happy that its a breeze and opens up endless possibilities. I need to bake thinner shells (needs some practice) but this one is a real hit! Atlast I am putting the cappuccino into good use 😉

Chocolate Cappuccino tartletes:

Shells made from this recipe.
I am writing them for your reference.

Makes 6, 4-inch tartelettes.

For the tart shells:
1 1/2 cups (185 -190g) flour
1/2 cup (65g) powdered sugar
1 stick (113-115g) butter, cut in small pieces
1 egg yolk

Combine the flour and sugar and whisk well. Add the butter and pinch it in the flour until it resembles wet sand. Add the egg yolk and mix to incorporate until the dough barely comes together. Dump it into a lightly floured work surface and knead until it just comes together. Wrap in plastic and refrigerate at least 30 minutes, preferably an hour. Roll between sheets of plastic wrap and cut out circles larger than your tart shells, fit the dough into the molds and cut out the excess. Set them on a sheet pan, line them with parchment paper rounds and fill them with pie weights or dried beans. Bake at 350F for about 10-15 minutes. Let cool before adding the filling.

empty-tart-shells

Chocolate Ganache :
Grated semi sweet chocolate – 1 Cup
Fresh cream – 1/3 cup

Warm the cream in a double boiler (keep a bowl of barely simmering water on the stove and place the bowl upon it. Water should not touch the bowl’s bottom). When it just starts to simmer dump the grated chocolate and mix well until its smooth and shiny. Keep aside.

Cappuccino cream:
Fresh cream – 1 Cup (cold)
Powdered Sugar – 3 Table spoon (if your cappuccino mix has sugar ignore this or add as per your taste)
Hills Bros Cappuccino instant mix – 3 Tablespoon (Use and instant mix available)

Dump everything in a cold bowl and whisk until the cream holds soft peaks.

To assemble:
Ensure the tart shell is cool. Fill it with a tablespoon of ganache. Using a piping bag (I filled the cappuccino cream in a plastic bag and cut out a start-like hole in the tip) pipe as you like on this. Refregirate until you serve.

DSC01811

Tastes best the day its made. But in room temperature the cream starts to loose its shape. But every bite is pure bliss 🙂

DSC01817

9 comments on “Chocolate Cappuccino tartletes

  1. Thats a brilliant use of the cappuccino. The tartlets are looking good dear.
    Thanks Pari !

  2. They look absolutely perfect Nirmala. Have to give these a try when I gather some courage.
    What did dad have to say with this coffee creation?
    No need of courage. Thats a big word for these little cuties. Actually they were very forgiving. Appa loved it Indo 🙂

  3. These look so lovely, have never made anything like these before. So the coffee was a bummer ??? I am not much of a coffee drinker but when I do I still get Bru 😉

  4. good idea and looks nice too

  5. Wow… lovely recipe.. looks soo delicious and tempting… mouth watering clicks!!

  6. Oh these mini tartlets look soooo cute 🙂

  7. Looks so cute, N…..btw, the smell of sesame oil is not at all overpowering in the tahini. I think the ellu and the garlic mask that smell and what little of it is evident only adds to the taste.

Leave a Reply

