8 Comments

Indian Cooking Challenge – Rava Ladoo

I am late by a day. This was one of my dream events and I am so happy that Srivalli took this up! The first item scheduled was a relatively simpler dish the humble Rava Ladoo. Read more here about the events and participants.

After a short weeklong vacation (visited Koutralam and near by places. Will update in another post sooner) I missed Srivalli’s mails and hurriedly made the ladoos yesterday and managed to post it today. I took up the ground rava method as at home kids like soft and smooth ladoos. Her recipe is perfect and all the ladoos disappeared within an hour. Thats the proof indeed 🙂
Here is the recipe I followed:
Rava – 1 cup

Sugar -1 cup

Ghee – 4 tspn

Milk – 2 tblspn

Powdered cardamom – a big pinch

Cashew nuts and raisins – few

Grated coconut – 2 tblspn

DSC01730

Take a kadai. Heat 2 tspn of ghee. Roast cashews and raisins. Remove and add the grated coconut. Roast till it is light brown. Remove the coconut and add the remaining ghee. Roast rava till you can smell the aroma of roasted rava. Switch off the flame. Let it cool and grind it to a fine powder. To the kadai, add sugar, powdered cardamom, roasted cashews,raisins and coconut. mix everything well. Slowly add warm milk to the mixture. Mix and switch on the flame and cook for two minutes. Remove from fire and stir for two minutes and transfer to a bowl. While warm make small balls and keep for 10 minutes for it to set well. If needed, you can sprinkle some milk for binding, while making the ladoos.
DSC01729

This made up a great treat for myself as a belated 2nd B’day for Amma’s Special! Thanks Valli. These ladoos made the celebration even more special.

turns2

8 comments on “Indian Cooking Challenge – Rava Ladoo

  1. I’m quite new to your blog and u have many useful information here. Very happy to have foud ur blog and Happy 2nd blog anniversary and I’m sure you you will have many more. I’m but jealous about the mallipoo. I love jasmine, when I was in Chennai my mom bought this everyday. But yours look like home grown one. I can imagine the smell around ur house.
    Thanks a lot! The jasmine chendu I bought in Madurai on my way back home from Koutralam 🙂

  2. Laddoos look perfect, i love the way you have presented, congo on your second yr anniversary dear!

  3. Happy blogaversary! That sure is a sweet, delicious way to celebrate! 🙂

  4. Hey Congrats nimi…laddoo looks great..and lovely travel pictures!..can you pls mail me the details to spicingyourlife@gmail.com

  5. Happy Blog anniversary.Vow, I love Madurai jasmine, the only flower in this earth, which I am ready to keep in my hair, how much as possible…

  6. They look really delicious.and the jasmine flowers ohhhhhhh……..i miss them and i love them a lot.

  7. Hi Nirmala, you have nice recipes in your blog. Check out Femlina.com. It is India’s first women’s social network. You can join and share your blogs, photos and videos about your recipes.

  8. Hello Nirmala,

    I’m a new visitor to your blog. Its really cool. I just started blogging last month. All your pics looks beautiful.
    Your are invited to visit my blog http://subhojyam.wordpress.com/.

    Thanks
    Madhu

Leave a Reply

