16 Comments

A travel update

I was away from blogging but not away from the blogging world. Was visiting all my favorite blogs. It was due to a quick and short planned travel and the related work which occupied all of my time. But should I update you all on where I went and whom I met.

Its a short official trip to Broomfield, Colorado. I happened to stay in a hotel and complete some trainings. Both the stay and the warmth given by the people around made me stay warm amidst the coldest days in CO. And will I forget to mention that I met her ? We both planned to meet before I left India and the added bonus she gave is to bring her little angel along. It was a pleasure to chit chat and go for a drive and eat in her favorite restaurant. Its the only treat I had in this shortest trip which made it a lifetime memory.

I behaved as a conservative foodie there as myself and my friend who traveled together took all quired utensils and groceries and cooked South Indian food all three times in a day ? Believe me I was making sambar with butternut squash, kootu with carrots and chayote, vathal kuzhambu, tomato rasam and what not ? But I am sure if I were not able to cook during this entire stay, it would have become a great punishment as I can’t live on burgers and pizzas.

But my friend took me to a mexican restaurant “Quidoba” where I loved their soup with chicken and a spicy chicken taco.

I was so excited to see snow (first time in my life) but with a shivering body I managed to enjoy it. And tried different veggies and fruits which I have drooled upon reading various blogs. The butternut squash which is Sunita’s favorite veggie truned to taste like the red pumpkin which we get in India. But I loved its simple taste and silky texture. The one which dissapointed me is the Grapefruit. I once made a pudding cake substituting it with Kamala orange and hence could not resist myself to pick one for a taste from the rocery. OMG, its so sour and I don’t know what to do with that. Might be it would have tasted better in a pudding cake 🙂

And coming to the recipe as part of the shopping in this shortest trip I managed to buy few things for my baking obsessions. One among them are these cutie mini muffin pans and th sprinkles. I made some lemon cup cakes using these. They turned to be absolutely delicious and I saw them disappear right before my eyes when I was clicking few pics 🙂

dsc01364

Recipe Lemon cupcakes (Adapted from Baking bites)

2 cups all purpose flour
2/3 cups all corn flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup butter, room temperature
1 2/3 cup sugar
1 tbsp lemon zest
2 large eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup milk

Preheat oven to 350F. Grease the muffin tray with little butter.
In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder and salt.
In a large bowl, cream together butter, sugar and lemon zest until light and fluffy. Adding the lemon zest early helps release more of its flavor. Blend in eggs one at a time, followed by vanilla extract. Stir in 1/3 of the flour mixture, followed by half of the milk. Add another 1/3 of the flour and the remaining milk, then stir in the remaining flour, mixing only until no streaks of flour remain.
Divide batter evenly into prepared muffin cups, filling each approx 2/3 to 3/4 full.
Bake for 16-19 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean and the top springs back when lightly pressed.
My oven baked these cuties in less than 12 minutes. Cool completely on a wire rack.

I added sprinkles to the top of the batter before baking and they were looking very nice. But they were too sweet so I made another batch without them.

16 comments on “A travel update

  1. Hey…Welcome back!!Loved reading through your travel update.Hope you had lots of fun..looking forward to new recipes from you!!

  2. I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Joannah

    http://myscones.com

  3. Nirmala, thats where you have been, lurking in our continent! 🙂
    Grape fruit is an acquired taste. I actually like it but the first time I tasted it the reaction was same as your. My little one actually likes grape fruit better than oranges. Muffin looks pretty, those muffin tins are very useful.

  4. who did you meet, nirmala? manisha? unfortunately your ‘her’ link does not go anywhere. nice to see you blogging again. you should’ve have told me what you wanted from here. i’d have sent it to you in colorado. i know it would’ve been hard for you to go shopping without a car.

  5. So you had a blast in the cold ? Did you meet Manisha, the link doesn’t work 😦
    Were you in an apt to cook so much ?

    We used to have a fruit similar to grapefruit in India too, it was called batabi lebu(bengali) or jambura(hindi). I think its english name is Pomelo. I never liked it either but my parents swear by it

  6. Ni, I was looking out for this post! Nice the cupcakes look.

  7. Glad to know you had a good time…and no, the link is not working 😦

  8. Oh! forgot to say that those li’l cakes look very yummy 🙂

  9. I am really happy to post again and yes my home net is ok now. Yeah Indo and Divya, I had a real good time.
    Bee, yeah you are right. I have updated the link now but looks like its an obvious guess 🙂 Thanks for the offer Bee, I managed with all veggies in near by walmart. Believe me I had carried all griceries that could hold up for a month 🙂
    Yes Sandeepa, I was in a hotel studio suite kind) so its more than enough to do this much cooking.
    Sra, the cakes tasted real good too 🙂
    Thanks Sunita!

  10. The picture in your post tempts me to try out the recipe 🙂

    Loved browsing thru foood blog. Let me introduce myself. I am Preetha, a novice blogger from My Scrawls.

    Do visit my blog (tasteindianfood.com) when u get time. Would be happy to receive your comments 🙂

  11. This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

  12. you got a nice blog.. ..I need an advice.. i am tempted to bake.. never baked anything in life.. i went to purchase an oven but got confused..i am in Chennai. can you help me choose 1 please??? please reply to my mail id. Thanks!

  13. great site this passionatetrials.wordpress.com great to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

  14. Hey! I don’t know how I missed this post!
    Nirmala, it was great meeting you and spending time with you and your friend! Too bad you couldn’t come over for a meal. Bee has no idea how well stocked your pantry was! And that sambar masala you gave me? Fabulous! Hope you’re doing well!

Leave a Reply

