18 Comments

Warm and Cozy – Noodle soup

Rain Gods are kind enough to shower the land. Yes the weather has turned to be great! I love rains.

From childhood rains are for being at home, laying besides the window with my sis and brother giggling and chatting, making paper boats, collecting the rain water(the rain water is the tastiest one I had ;)) in small vessels and what not ?

Amma used to warm us with nice hot pakodas, bajjis, chips and tea. Those days we were not familiar with soups and thus they were never in our menu (other than the weekly mutton soup or prawn soup episode).

At home myself and amma were the noodle lovers and others won’t favour them neither as a snack nor as a meal. But for us its just that good comfort food. Many of my blogging friends have blogged about noodle soup and I was so very tempted to try them at home but something or the other will stop me for cooking just for me and amma.

These rains were the perfect season to have them and I made it last weekend. Top Ramen Curry noodles is our favorite brand and I used it here.

Ingredients:

Top Ramen Curry Noodles – 2 packs
Thinly sliced vegetables – 1 Cup (I used carrots, capsicum, beans)
Onions – 1 (thinly sliced)
Tomatoes – 1 chopped
ginger garlic paste – 1/4 tea spoon
Salt to taste
Water – 5 Cups
Peanut oil – 1 tea spoon
Chilli powder – 1/2 tea spoon
A handful of chopped sping onions (the green part)

How to make it?

Heat oil in a pan and add the ginger garlic paste and fry till they turn golden. Add the onions and saute for 2 mins. Add the tomatoes and cook till they turn mushy. Add the vegetables and saute for 2 mins. Add the chilli powder and saute for one more minute. Add the water, 1/4 tea spoon salt and the seasoning from the two packs of the noodles and mix well. Cover and bring to a boil. Within 5 mins the veggies will get cooked. Now the water will be in a rolling boil. Add the noodles broken to the pan. Cover and cook until the noodles is done. Add the chopped green onions and Serve hot!

The kids went to bed early and myself and amma had it with a nice chat sitting near the window. The showers were stopped then but the weather is crisp and chill and its simply perfect !

Note : If you want to add salt check once the noodles are done and add if required. If you want it spicy add freshly ground black pepper in the end before serving.

18 comments on “Warm and Cozy – Noodle soup

  1. The soup looks yummm… as you said perfect on a rainy evening……

  2. Yummy soup for a rainy day… Nice click.

  3. perfect for this weather! 🙂 i love noodle soup and have gotten my daughter addicted to it as well!

  4. its rainin here too,..ur soul looks perfect,..

  5. Perfect for the weather that we’ve had for the past few days….

  6. Notyet, no need to say sorry, I’m sure Ni’s soul IS perfect 😀 😀

    And yes, the soup too looks perfect!

  7. Hi Dear,
    First time here. The pic of the soup making me hungry. It is about to rain here in Bangalore and iam running into the kitchen to try out this. So that i can enjoy rain with this soup.

  8. you are great. with this recipe you gave me a idea of using top raman noodles. I have two packs and we dont like them to eat. But I am sure if I will make this my husband will love to have it. ur pic is so tempting that I cant wait to make this. today only will cook it. Thanks dear.

  9. lovely click! nice variation to the noodle soup…

  10. Noodle soup looks so yummy!

  11. Looks super …iam gona try this…

  12. That is one lovely soup..

  13. amma used to make noodles soup using maggi and how i loved it. its been ages since i had top ramen noodles ur soup idea is enough to make me drool 😀

  14. Lovely looking soup. Good for the rainy weather.

  15. Oh la la !!! Just love Ramen noodles… that too on a rainy day.. Thanks for asking Nirmala. I am doing fine and am otherwise busy – so bloggin has taken a back seat.

  16. Lovely, lovely noodle soup, Nirmala. A perfect recipe for a rainy day!

  17. The noodle soup looks delicious Nirmala.

Leave a Reply

