13 Comments

Watermelon curry

Don’t feel quirky on seeing the title. Actually its a curry made out of the whitish part of the watermelon. Last week when we were having tha last pieces of a whole red juicy watermelon, I was saying Amma about making dosa out of watermelon’s whitish part. She was amazed to know that it can be cooked and eaten and jumped up to the kitchen to try her own creation.

I helped her peel the skin and cut the whitish part into bite sized pieces. After that I was busy playing with the kids and within minutes she brought me before a piping hot plate of a wonderful looking curry and it was hard to believe that its from the watermelon.

It took less than 15 minutes to make this curry and leaving the reddish part upto 3-4 mm with the white flesh gave a subtle sweet touch to the curry which I loved it. Actually I ate them on its own but think it would be lovely when paired with roti. It more or less resembled ash gourd in taste.

Ingredients:
Watermelon (red part removed, skin peeled and the white flesh cut into bite sized chunks) – 1 cup
Salt – 1/4 tea spoon
Sambar powder / Chilli powder – 1/4 or 1/2 tea spoon
Peanut oil – 1/2 tea spoon
mustard seeds – 2 pinches
Urad dal – 1/2 tea spoon

Sprig of curry leaves

How to make it ?
In a thick bottomed vessel heat the peanut oil. When hot add the mustard seeds. As the pop add the urad dal and fry till they turn golden. Add the curry leaves. Add the watermelon white chunks and the sambar powder and salt. Mix well and cook it covered in low flame for 7-8 minutes. Check if its cooked or cook for 2/3 more minutes. You don’t need to add water as the white flesh leaves more water on its own.

It was delicious and bit crunchy and little sweet. The tough part is to remove the green skin from the white flesh. Otherwise its a perfect curry!

13 comments on “Watermelon curry

  1. that looks awesome nirmala. my amma makes palya using watermelon rind and it tastes simply awesome.
    by the way, i have watermelon rind dosa posted in my blog. try it out sometime as it tastes really good and makes u feel good for not wasting even those rinds 😉

  2. Nirmala,
    this looks lovely.
    even i have posted watermelon subzi recipe soemtime back.check it out in my blog.

  3. In our house jiju and my niece love to eat the rind so we dont have left overs at all. But should try this next time. Thanks for sharing

  4. I’ve heard of dosa made with the white part, but your curry sounds awesome…..

  5. Nirmala, thats truly a brilliant idea (we use it for dosas! now u hv given one more idea on its use…ur Amma is simply genius!)

  6. Nice idea Nirmala..will surely try this.I throw away the white part all the time.Thanks for the delicious dish

  7. Great idea, Nirmala!! No longer need to throw the white part away! 🙂

  8. this is such a creative dish..never thought of making anything out of watermelon other than a drink or may be salad…but his sounds wonderful..thanks for sharing:)

  9. Nirmala did you get my comment from yesterday? Just checking…

  10. Dude, first time to ur blog. but I need to alert you…that some of ur pictures have been stolen by this lady chef srividya76 a member of ifood.tv Please check it out…ur water melon curry photo is published there. Please trail back to my site for more information. She has copied my stuff too.

  11. I read your posts for a long time and should tell that your articles are always valuable to readers.

  12. Hello,

    I have an unripe watermelon on my hands (cut too early from my garden…). It is slightly reddish instead with mostly white parts. Can the rind be used in this state to make the curry or dosa? I know your recipes have used the rind part of ripe watermelons – hence the question.

    Thanks,
    Rani

    Taste the white aprt of the rind. If it tastes bland or slightly sweet its good to use. Even there is a slight bitter taste don’t use them

  13. Thanks for posting this. Someone told me this afternoon that one could make such dishes and I am anxious to try a few. It makes perfect sense that the rind could be used as a vegetable but I never thought of it, even though we ate water mellon rind pickle with I was young.

    NHW

Leave a Reply

