14 Comments

Cheese Straw Wafers from Tastes like Home for T&T

Have drooled on the pics so many days! Have laughed to my heart on reading her posts! Am a fan of her rantings too! But when I dropped her a mail asking for a recipe I came to knew how kind she is too. Cynthia the lovely lady behind the Tastes Like Home which is not only a wonderful blog to read around but had lots of excellent fool proof recipes.

The event hosted by lovely Zlamushka gave a chance to try out Cynthia’s lovely recipe. This time I was busy with so many things at home. Both work and home front is keeping me tied up and before my very eyes the last date for the event slipped away. But I for sure want to try this out atleast for the kindness she showed me to send the recipe.

Got up early in the morning (just to avoid “Again another bake ? And can’t sit for a while when you get some time for yourself ? Don’t keep the oven near the table, the kids are playing in the living room”) and started making this. I could not stop wondering on the time taken by the recipe. You have to believe me it took just 5 minutes to mix up the dough. Since I wanted to add some zing added a pinch of ajwain, a table spoon of chopped coriander leaves and few rings of green chillies. Tried piping the dough into wafers but my piping skills and waking up kids did not give me enough patience to do it properly made the dough into small patties and bakes them till golden brown. I did not grate the cheese peoperly but that too gave some lovely blisters on the patties. What to say ? When I took the first bite as soon as it cooled down I couls not believe that I can make wafers at home that too without an egg or a pinch of baking powder. Even though Appa commented “Have u made onion vadai (urad dal dumpling)” and insulted me to the core he too was fallen for the taste.

Cynthia you might feel down on the looks of the wafers, forgive me I am very bad at making decent looking bakes food but no compromise in the taste. Its a fool proof and very forgiving recipe. Thanks a lot for the wonderful keeper! I will post another picture of the piled up wafers tomorrow and till then please bear with me.

14 comments on “Cheese Straw Wafers from Tastes like Home for T&T

  1. cynthia rocks – i am super kicked with her pastry dough/ quiche recipe 🙂

  2. how it tastes matters more than how it looks.. and i too am big fan of cynth’s creations 🙂

  3. must’ve tasted great! 😀

  4. this looks sooo delcious…i love cynthias recipes too 🙂

  5. I am great fan of Cynthia’s recipes.. have been a bit busy to send an entry to T&T… the wafers look yummy 😀

    Siri

  6. Lovely entry. It is very hard to top Cytnhia´s pictures, so dont worry, your look cute 😉 I am happy to include you into the round-up, had a few late arrivals already, so dotn worry. I really appreciate you finding time for my event.

  7. I think these look great! Damn, I made pithale from Nupur’s and didnt post it on time!

  8. it sounds and looks too good Shilpa! wish I could pick it off the screen:)

    hope you are feeling better at home and work-front now!!

  9. Onion vadai sooper 😉

  10. Look great, m sure tasteb is also great. Cynthia’s recipes always rocks!!!

    http://vegetarianmedley.blogspot.com/

  11. Just wanted to let you know that the round-up for T&T May is up now. Hope you re ready for the June challenge.

  12. I am sure it must have tasted fantastic!!! 🙂

  13. All that matters is the taste hon – tried and tasted 🙂

    Thank you so much for participating.

Leave a Reply

