15 Comments

Khoba roti from Tarladalal – RCI Rajasthan

rajwomen51.jpg

RCI Rajasthan – When I read about the announcement I was really happy as I could get my hands in atleast one their cuisines for particiaption. My first search is with Tarladalal and the picture of this roti fascinated me. As the recipe is for priviged users I thought of registering. Their server had a problem and it neither allowed me to buy the book for Rajathani cuisine online as it was reporting odd figures for shipping and handling charges.
Finally when Sra blogged on a Rajasthani recipe from the same book I requested ehr for the roti recipe. She is kind enough to send it across. I made few changes to the recipe as the amount of ghee was more. I added few spices which made the roti so very wonderfully tasting but easy to digest.

Khoba roti (Adapted from Tarladalal’s Rajasthani cuisine)

Ingredients: (for 4 rotis)
Whole wheat flour – 2 cups
Enough water to make the dough (same as chapati dough)
Salt to taste
Ghee – 2 tea spoon

Spice powder :
Kalonji seeds – 1/4 tea spoon
Black pepper – 1/4 tea spoon
Ajwain – 2 pinches

How to make it ?
For the spice pwoder dry roast all of them for 1/2 to 1 minute to get out the aroma and make a coarse powder.
For the roti mix flour and salt the ingredients along with spice powder except water thoroughly. Add water 1 Table spoon at a time to make a soft and pliable dough. Knead it for few minutes by adding the ghee little at a time. Divide the dough into 4 equal parts and make balls. Roll them into chapathis. Then comes the fun part. Pinch them in circles to make a pattern shown in the picture. Make some 3 to four inner circles to have the indentations all around.
Cook the chapathis with ghee in a griddle and serve with side dish of your choice. Due to the sipce powder mix it tasted good on its own or with plain curds.

This is my entry for RCI Rajasthan hosted by lovel Padmaja. Hope she will accept this late entry!

 

15 comments on “Khoba roti from Tarladalal – RCI Rajasthan

  1. Lovely roti nirmala..btw you can send this to me too for roti mela!

  2. Hey, you pinched it right! 🙂

  3. Lovely rotis nirmala!! I just love them!Thank you for sending them to my event!!

  4. roti looks awesome nirmala!!!thanks for sharing..

  5. Roti looks wonderful Nirmala.I have a sweet surprise for u in my blog.

  6. Lovely rotis .. looks gud … to see .. hope its the same to eat …

  7. That pinching part makes the rotis look actually pretty! Nice entry for RCI & Roti Mela.

  8. nice pinched pattern 🙂

  9. Nice entry for RCI. Love the pinching part thats something unique. Love the recipe Nirmala.

  10. Roti’s are Very Perfect Nirmala..

  11. thats really new – the pinching – interesting technique!

  12. The pattern is so pretty! Looks wonderful, Nirmala! 🙂

  13. The Ajwain must have added that extra oomph to the rotis, love the taste of Ajwain. Good entry Nirmala 🙂

Leave a Reply

