4 Comments

Cardamom flavored Cream Puffs – For Think Spice

This is one among the must-try dishes in my list and finally I could make an entry for “Think Spice” event this moth. The recipe is very forgiving and because of the climate and the hurrying, messing-up me, I cannot make mounds of dough though the hot weather left the dough bit flowy.

When mixing up as I add the first egg the dough was still sticky and thick and I was wonderfg when will it turn to be “shiny and soft”. But the second egg made all the change.
Instead of Vannila I added cardamom just to peep in to this month’s Think Spice event but it made a wonderful change and the cream puffs were a hit among the kids. My fussy elder one galloped 2 at a stretch and was waiting near the oven for the next batch to get ready.

Adapted from David Lebovitz’s Creampuff

Ingredients:
All purpose flour / Maida – 1/2 cup
Sugar – 2 Table spoon (I increased the quantity for the kids)
Freshly ground cardamom – 1/2 tea spoon
Water – 1/2 cup
Butter – 3 T spoon
Salt – 1 pinch
Eggs – 2

How to make it?
In the saucepan boil the water, sugar, salt and butter until the butter is melted fully. Add the powdered cardamom and the flour all at once and mix thoroughly with a spoon. The dough will become a creamy thing coming into a ball without sticking to the pan. Add one egg at a time Now with an electric beater or a spoon beat after each addition until its thick and shiny.

Keep refrigerated for an hour. Pre-heat the oven and in a baking sheet place small mounds of the dough with 3 inches space in between. These tend to puff up nicely. And bake for 35 minutes. But here my OTG made a difference as the cream puffs turned to be puffy and golden just after 12 minutes. This might be due to the consistency of the dough (as there is a power cut and to my hurry I skipped the refrigerating part) as it spread into little pancakes rather than stand up in the mound shape as shown in the original recipe.
But all the way it turned to be yummy as it got finished off in minutes. I shall be making it again soon.

This is my entry for Think Spice – Cardamom hosted by lovelyEC.

4 comments on “Cardamom flavored Cream Puffs – For Think Spice

  1. lovely one…maybe you can make this for me next time..of course without you know what!..:)

  2. This is a must try, for a cardamom lover like me 🙂

  3. Should definitely taste good with cardamom. Simple and yummy

Leave a Reply

