10 Comments

Lemon Toffee for JFI Lime/Lemon

Lime and Lemon are mostly used as pickle at home. When Coffee of “The Spice Cafe” announced that this month’s ingredient for JFI event is Lime/Lemon I was really confused what to make. I cannot think beyond a lemon rice or a lemon rasam which is so common. Again I cannot imagine a bread flavored with lime.

As Indian vareities are very sour I always make it disproportionate in any dish I make out of it. Either it will be too sour or totally miss the lemon scent;( I had never got that exact taste. But again I have tasted great lemon rice from my friend’s home. Her aunt used to make excellent ones during our school days. She will bring it in a larger than usual tiffin box on those days. I needed no side dishes for it and would gallop half of it even though we need to share it in a group of 10 😉

Coming to the recipe I decided for this event is a “Lemon Toffee”. During childhood days the tiny “elumichangai mittai” used to be my favorite which we can get handfuls for 10 paise. Thats a great as well inexpensive treat for us. I found the recipe in one of my favorite blogs “a cat in the kitchen”. This is the recipe link. This is not just that favorite mittai as this contained cream which gave a creamier taste. But its good.

I shall give the reicpe for easy reference here:
Lemon Toffee
(makes about 70 toffees)

300 ml double/whipping cream
200 ml golden syrup
300 ml caster sugar
2 tbsp butter
juice and zest from 1 lemon

about 70 small toffee paper forms

Put the toffee forms on a tray.
Mix all the ingredients in a saucepan. Stir occasionally and boil without lid for 15-60 minutes, until the toffee batter is 122-125 ° C. If you don’t have a thermometer you can do a ball test: at that temperature a drop of the batter should solidify in water and be possible to be rolled into a little ball.

Pour the toffee carefully into each paper form. Repeat with all toffee batter. Store the toffee in a tin with greaseproof paper between each layer.

Since I used Indian lemon I added 1 Tablespoon of lemon juice. I skipped the zest part. Also I made the corn syrup with 1 cup sugar and 1 cup water boiled to one string consistency. I was also afraid that adding such a sour juice might break the fresh cream I added. But to my surprise it did not. Added a pinch of yellow food color to get that lemon effect. It was a melt in a mouth kind and totally wonderful. Amma said it could have been more tastier if I would have added another 1/2 T of lemon juice. Should try that next time.


Since the weather is very hot here the ball I made out of the candy mix started flattening by the time I made my camera ready. But whats there in it ? I scratched the plate and ate all the three balls.

The rest were for my family 😉 Thanks Coffee for the wonderful chance you gave me to try this recipe. Its definitely  a keeper.

10 comments on “Lemon Toffee for JFI Lime/Lemon

  1. They look so pretty! Even when melted!

  2. Wow..this is really something different.The pic is amazing too.Looks delicious !!!!

  3. Nirmala..that looks so cute…nice dish..

  4. slurpppp… ia m still thinking as what to cook for coffee!

  5. So adorable, Nirmala! I love anything with lemon. 🙂

  6. totally yummy. you are a very adventurous cook, nirmala.

  7. wow…looks pretty,,never heard abt this one..Happy V day to u

  8. The lemon toffee looks so inviting, hope you kids enjoyed it all the same…

    P.S. I know, i am due for a phone call, will do that soon

Leave a Reply

