9 Comments

An experiment with chocolate brownies…

I very much wanted to make a brownie when yesterday I had a craving for chocolate. I made some variations with the available recipe and reduced the amount of chocolate in them to suit my taste. There came out a dense, choclaty brownie which I sent to my friend’s b’day! Hope he should like them.

Ingredients:
All purpose flour – 1 cup
Bitter sweet chocolate – 135 gms (chopped to small pieces)
Salt 1/4 tea spoon
Brown sugar – 1 cup (packed)
Baking powder – 1/2 teaspoon
Eggs – 2
Egg white – 1
Butter (unsalted) – 1 cup (at room temperature)

How to make it?
Sieve the flour, baking powder and salt together until well mixed. Beat the eggs, egg whites with sugar until creamy. In a double boiler melt the butter and add the chopped chocolates to it. Take it off the boiler and mix well until the mixture is creamy (the chocolate peices melts in the hot melted butter). Add this to the egg, sugar mix and beat in low speed until well mixed (do not over beat). Add the flour to this and mix well with a spoon until well incorporated. The batter will be a creamy, chocolaty mass. Grease a cake pan with butter and pre-heat the oven. Pour the batter into the greased cake pan and bake it for 15 minutes at 375 degree centigrade or until a spoon inderted into the cake comes out clean.
Let it cool thoroughly and slice them into 2 inch x 2 inch squares. The above content makes about 20-25 squares. And now watch them dissappear from your eyes in minutes!


9 comments on “An experiment with chocolate brownies…

  1. brownies always disappear… that’s such a nice gift for your friend.
    Thanks Raga. I am yet to bake a bread successfully. Mr.Yeast is yet to be my friend

  2. i agree with raaga.
    I don’t know anyone who doesn’t love brownies.
    I would eat them everyday except if i eat the things which i love every day, it will do straight to my thighs :-))
    True! I am left with the crumbs in the box 😦

  3. nirmala, it is hard to believe you just started baking a couple of months ago. your creations are wonderful.

  4. simply superb. Looks great. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Now I am craving for chocolate! 😉 Your brownies are super delicious…ypur friend is so lucky! 🙂

  6. Homemade choclate brownies is a very thoughtful gift. Choc brownies look droolicious.

  7. Brownie looks perfect. Cracked top and moist insides. But I have to think abt tht 1 cup of butter 😀

  8. yum! brownies.. anything with chocolate and i am all nuts about it 😉

  9. Hi Raaga, Happy cook, Mandira, Rajitha, Suganya, Pooja, Jyothi and Tee,
    I would love to bake some for you people if I could get a chance 🙂
    Bee,
    Thanks Bee! But I am very bad at making breads. Mr. Yeast is having a tough fight with me and not at all cooperating. I have almost dumped in garbage 2 kg of AP flour by trying out different breads. The dry yeast I have got must have dead. Tried with instant yeast too but yet to get a grip of it.

Leave a Reply

