3 Comments

Nandu varuval – Spicy Crab fry

It was warm night and a week before Diwali. I had my own list of items to be made for Diwali. One among them is wheat halwa. Godhumai/Wheat halwa is an all time favorite for both me and my son. I planned very well and soaked 1/2 kg of whole wheat the night before and in the morning I ground it to a paste and extracted the milk and kept in fridge.

So after completing the daily cores at home and putting the kids to sleep myself and my sister ventured to the kitchen to invade ou favorite halwa. Things progressed very well and we both were damn tired when the halwa finally reached the desired consistency. Golden orange, fluffy and melting ghee the fragrance and looks made us feel very proud. Very proud indeed that we switched off th stove and went to the drawing room to have a relaxed chat. We both very much likely not to get such times  due to our work and kids and hence had a hearty chat. After 45 mins around we got reminded of the halwa by the time which it should have cooled down. We went inside the kitchen with drooling mouths but only to find a rock hard mass in the vessel. Oh my we both were stunned and rushed to my sleeping Amma and shook her from sleep. Its around 11.45 PM :( She woke up and patiently heard our story. Finally said “U should have changed the vessel once the halwa is done. Otherwise this would only happen”. I literally wanted to bite her in anger as why shouldn’t she tell this in th beginning. She said ” I thought u people know “. That is the story of our wheat halwa :(

Coming to today’s recipe its my favorite way to eat crab. Anyway I have never eaten crab in any other form and hence I shall say this is the one and only crab recipe in amma’s repository!

Crab fry

Ingredients:

Crab with shells cleaned – 1/2 KG

Chopped onion – 3/4 cup

Chopped tomato – 3/4 cup

Coriander and Mint – 3-4 sprigs each

Ginger – 1 inch piece

Garlic – 5 pods

Grated fresh coconut – 1/2 cup

Sambar powder – 2 teaspoon

Salt to taste

Turmeric powder – 1/4 tea soon

Peanut oil – 3 T

How to make it?

Clean and wash the crabs. Detach the legs and cut the middle part into two (depending on the size of the crab you can break into manageable size). Take all the ingredients from onion to turmeric and grind to it a paste without adding water. Check for salt and adjust now. Add the peanut oil and mix well. In a thick bottomed vessel take the ground mixture and heat it. The mix will start boiling. Stir often and let the raw smell vanish. Add the cleaned crabs and 1/2 cup of water and mix well. Stir to combine well and let it cook covered for 5-10 minutes. Check often and stir. you will the a wonderful aroma filling the kitchen and the oil getting separated from the gravy. Switch off the stove.

crab-fry

Serve hot with piping hot rice. The gravy mixed with rice tastes divine. Perfect for this cold weather.

3 comments on “Nandu varuval – Spicy Crab fry

  1. That is sad Nirmala. Wheat halwa is my ammayee’s special item. She does not make it often now though, should check with my mom about that. I was not very fond of it back then but now would love to give it a taste.

    Oh and that crab varuval. I’d give anything to get some of that.
    Then Indo please do a step by step for that. I would love to have your amayee’s recipe

  2. I recently made carrot halwa for the second time and was amazed at how much time it look. Felt like searching for a MW recipe midway but was too lazy to search, so I stirred and stirred, and it became burfi! Then I poured some more milk in it and made it halwa again. Whew!
    That did not work here. It was rock hard :(

  3. I have never had wheat halwa, but after all that hard work, that must have been an angry moment !!! The crab totally compensates for what happened though :) I would give up any halwa for that crab
    Next tim if u have crabs in hand try this. U’ll love this aromatic gravy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

