18 Comments

A lovely summer lunch

Summer is here right before us and we are already indulging in watermelons, juices, lemonades, curd rice, butter milk oh what not? Luckily the house we live in is in the 3rd floor. This appartment has ample space on both sides and hence the sea breeze is all ours. It starts in the mid day and lasts till late night which I should say keeps us cool so much. I love this house.

We eat more vegetarian food nowdays and having loads of veggies every day. When I went to the market day before yesterday I remembered that its long since we had any sprouted legumes. So I picked up a packet of the sprouted whole moong dal. Amma was in all smiles when she saw the packet as she had a recipe which Paravai Muniamma in her Sunday cookery show had demonstrated. So when she said she could make it I immeidately suggested Kezhvaragu kali (Raagi muddha) which would go very well with the kuzhambu. So that was the lunch yesterday and I cannot stop drooling even now as I type this. Each morsel was simply devine and when I finished my lunch with a cup of buttermilk and a slice of water melon I was prepared for a nap readily :)

And did I mention about the breeze in the afternoons ? Yes I spread a mattress in the balcony and a with my favorite book in hand I was in heaven.

And this is the recipe adapted from Paravai Muniamma :

Ingredients:
Sprouted whole moong dal – 2 Cups
Brinjal – 1 medium sized cut into 1 inch pieces
Tomatoes chooped – 1 cup
Onion chooped – 1/2 cup
Tamarind – 1 small lime sized
Garlic – 6-8 cloves
Chilli powder – 1 teaspoon
Coriander powder – 1.5 teaspoon
Salt – as per taste
Curry leaves – 1 sprig
Peanut oil – 1 T
Mustard seeds – 1/4 teaspoon
turmeric powder – 1 pinch

How to make it ?
Soak the tamarind in 4 cups of water.

Cook the moon dal in little water (just to submerge them all) with a pinch of turmeric powder until tender.

Squeeze well the soaked tamarind in th watrer and discard the remainings after filtering in a colander.

In a thick bottomed wide vessel heat the oil. When it is hot add the mustard seeds. When it splutters add the curry leaves and fry till they wilt. Add the chopped onions and garlic cloves and saute till they turn pink. Add the brinjal pieces and saute till they turn color. Now add the tomatoes and half of the required salt and saute till the tomatoes are cooked soft. Add the chilli + coriander powder and stir to combine. Add the tamarind extract and mix well. Check for salt and adjust if required. Once the mix starts boiling let it boil for 5 minutes. Now add the cooked moong dal and let it boil for further 5 mins. By this time the gravy would have thickened. If needed simmer for further few minutes till it attains the desired consistency or you can switch off th stove and cover with a lid until ready to serve.

dsc01374

Serve hot with warm rice or Kezhvaragu kali. Will go well with rotis too.

18 comments on “A lovely summer lunch

  1. Ah, this was the dish you meant in your comment in my latest post! I bought a watermelon yesterday, only the second one of the season as I’ve been travelling. Looking forward to it for dinner!

  2. What a delightful dish Nirmala. Everytime I eat a ragi dosai or a ragi vadai, never fails to amaze me how tasty it is.

    Shall we trade places- you can go roaming with DD2 in the park in our backyard while I take an afternoon nap on your balcony on a sunday afternoon :)

  3. You are so lucky to have your Amma stay with you :) This is very new for me and I like that name for Raagi mudda.

  4. Hmm..I’m jealous of the mattress-in-the-balcony-with-sea-breeze-part!!;-).Ragi is not something I’m too fond of.Shall try out the moong dal gravy instead!!Chennai summer is brewing..watermelons are part of our daily diet these days!!

  5. Oh that nap in the balcony enjoying the sea breeze sounds so good! Especially when it is so gloomy and cold here :(

  6. Made this today with whole moong and avrakkai. So good.

  7. I’ve been missing your posts….for some reason my reader has not been picking them up. I was just wondering where u’d vanished to and thought I’d check.
    So, how’ve you been, N???
    You moved??? Where to?

  8. Hi, Happy Sri Rama Navami!

  9. very healthy, nutritious and tasty as well. I also prepare a similar dal but I omit the brinjal and add other veggies like carrots and corn. That also turns out good.
    well done!

  10. dear nirmala, please don’t buy sprouted stuff from the market or store. they use some nasty chemicals to hasten the process. sprout them at home.

  11. Nice combo of sprouts and brinjals.. I havent tried that .. it should be awsome.. i saw paravai muniyamma’s show on sun tv.. felt she was cool , cooking in earthen pots.

  12. Oh, for summer in March! Your summer lunch looks lovely indeed, and the nap on the balcony sounds even more so :)

  13. Wow Sea breeze and all….how comforting is that!

  14. oh you lucky girl! summer is a far cry for us. may be we should switch homes, he he he :)

  15. Hey Ni..long time…nice post..looks like you are very busy..call up with you are free..I called couple weeks back no response!

  16. [...] Divine Dining placed an observative post today on A lovely summer lunchHere’s a quick excerptI love this house. We eat more vegetarian food nowdays and having loads of veggies every day. When I went to the market day before yesterday I… [...]

  17. Moong and brinjal? Never tried that combination before, but will definitely give it a try.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

