11 Comments

Thengai paal kesari – Coconut milk kesari

If you are a regular reader you would have noted my love for coconut milk. I love the subtle creaminess it imparts to the dish and totally addicted for its mild sweetness. Whenever I make dish for the kids I make sure I add thick coconut milk to enhance the taste. Except for sambar I used to add this to any gravy I make.

This sunday morning I woke up with the craving for rava kesari. Its long that we made it and wanted to add a twist to it. Tried to make it with coconut milk and it turned to be a wonderful dish. We made rava kichdi and coconut chutney to go along with and it made out a grand breakfast on a Sunday morning!

Here comes the recipe!

Thengai paal Kesari

Ingredients:

Freshly grated coconut – 2 Cups (packed)
Sooji / Rawa – 1 Cup
Sugar – 1.5 Cups
Cardomom – seeds grounded 1/2 tea spoon
Salt – a pinch
Water – 2 Cups
Ghee – 1 Table spoon (Use vanaspathi it for a vegan version)
Cashew – 6 (broken into small pieces)

How to make it ?
Reserve 3 Table spoon of grated coconut and grind the rest with 1/2 cup of water in a mixer or stone grinder. In a colander squeeze the ground paste and extract the milk. This is the first milk. Reserve it. Grind the paste again with 1 cup of water and squeeze aagin. This is called the second milk. Reserve it separately.

In a thick bottomed kadai heat the ghee and fry the cashews golden until brown. Drain them and reserve it. In the same kadai fry the Rawa stirring continously in low heat until a nice aroma comes up. Switch off the stove and reserve the rava.

In the same kadai boil 1 Cup of water with the second coconut milk with the salt. When it comes to a rolling boil add the fried rawa and keep stirring continously. At this point the mix will be pretty thick. Now add the sugar and mix well. Add the ground cardamom. Add the first coconut milk now and keep mixing. It will tend to form lumps but mix well and it will becomed smooth in the end. Keep the heat in moderate during the whole process. When you find there are no lumps simmer the stove and keep it covered for 3-4 minutes. Keep checking in between if the bottom is not getting sticky.
It will be done by this time. Add the reserved grated coconut and mix well. Add the cashews give a final stir. Keep it warm until serving. I am sending this to Vaishali of Holy Cow’s Sweet Vegan Event

This weekend I finally made this. Thanks to Jai for the foolproof steps. But I was not able to find the plastic sheet in all the nearby shops. Need to try out in other places next week. But will that stop me from trying out this ? I made use of a “dhoti” which my father generously gave me for my trials. Have posted the sample picts taken from it. I made some orange jelly for my elder one and that has posed for the trial.


(With the normal lighting – means the poorly lit room)

(With table top lighting)

Isn’t it looking good? Will post the picture of the entire setup soon.

11 comments on “Thengai paal kesari – Coconut milk kesari

  1. The procedure looks difficult,but i think it tastes and smells heaven,I can say it by the look of the kesari..yummyyiiii

  2. Coconut milk kesari sounds delicous nirmala..Nice that you had set up table-top lighting system. would soon call u and ask for the shops you peeked in:)

  3. Yep, it looks good – the jelly.
    Thenga paal kesari – hmmm …

  4. this is new to me and looks yummy!

  5. Hey that looks really lovely

  6. You woke up craving for kesari :)

    the jelly looks so well photographed…

  7. Very creative using thengai paal in kesari I am sure it would have tasted awesome :)

  8. loooks good……BTW nice template nirmala

  9. Hi,
    This kesari is new to me. But this looks soo yummy. Really excellent and mouthwatering. Beautiful colour.

  10. What a brilliant idea to substitute with coconut milk in the kesari. It looks super-delicious, Nirmala.

  11. hi,
    this is a good recipe. I have never tried a coconut kesari b4.
    Must try it once.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 79 other followers

