9 Comments

Paruppu keerai kootu – Pursulane dal

When Suganya wrote about this keerai and said there were not much recipes found for it, this strike my mind.

Amma makes a simple toor dal kootu with this keerai. As the name itself has “paruppu” (dal) in it it tastes best with toor dal and is ideal for paruppu kootu than any other keerai.
With a spicy curry or a simple pickle this can make a hearty meal. As its not commonly found in chennai markets I did not post the recipe this long. A simple recipe yet heart warming in this hot summer.
Ingredients:
Paruppu keerai leaves – 2 cups packed
Cooked toor dal – 1 cup
Grated fresh coconut – 2 Table spoon
Red chilles – 2 or 3 split into 2 pieces
mustard seeds – 1/4 tea spoon
Peanut oil – 1 teaspoon
Onion chopped – 1/2 cup

How to make it?
Heat a thick bottomed vessel and add the cooked toor dal along with 2 cups of water. Add the chopped onions and cook till a nice aroma raises from the cooked onions (around 5 – 7 minutes). Now add the paruppu keerai leaves and mix well. Add salt as per taste and cook till the leaves are cooked (around 5 mins). Now add the grated coconut and mix well. Boil for another minute and switch off the stove.

In a thick bottomed vessel heat the peanu oil and once hot add the mustard seeds and red chillies. When the seeds start popping pour the mixture on the keerai dal mix. Stir well and cover it for 15 mins. Serve hot with a spicy curry or pickle with warm rice.

9 comments on “Paruppu keerai kootu – Pursulane dal

  1. i love keerai kootu… this reminds me of amma….

  2. Another keerai from you……This is my daughter’s fav.But i use moong dhal.will try with toor dhal too

  3. I hated greens while growing up, these day I’m always looking for recipes to cook greens. Thanks for sharing the nutritious recipe!

  4. ehmm..you are in some keerai speer!..I can love keerai until its offered to me…:D

  5. If I can lay my hands on those greens again, this is the recipe I want to try. Thank Nirmala :)

  6. I love spinach with dal. Nice combination and good for health.

  7. I would say Its my favvvvv most keerai dish. Healthy choice too. I used to make same recipe like urs.

  8. this is too good, thanks for posting!!!!
    i used onion while seasoning and let it become golden brown.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 85 other followers

